State of the evidence
- Human evidence
- Substantial and high quality for an unapproved compound. A continuous originator-sponsored programme runs from phase 1b (Lancet 2022, PMID 36354040) through three phase 2 trials — obesity n=338 (NEJM 2023, PMID 37366315), type 2 diabetes n=281 (Lancet 2023, PMID 37385280), MASLD phase 2a (Nature Medicine 2024, PMID 38858523) — plus a body-composition substudy (Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol 2025, PMID 40609566), to one published phase 3 trial, TRANSCEND-T2D-1, n=537 (Lancet 2026, PMID 42250575), which met its primary HbA1c endpoint at all dose levels studied. Published in general and specialist journals of high standing. Critically, essentially the entire human base uses originator material manufactured to pharmaceutical standards under clinical supervision in screened populations, so none of it is evidence about material from any other source.
- Published in
- All four model types are represented. In vitro: receptor pharmacology across GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptors (Cell Metabolism 2022, PMID 35985340); a human primary subcutaneous adipocyte lipolysis protocol (STAR Protocols 2023, PMID 37178114); a liquid-phase synthesis route (Organic Letters 2026, PMID 42224238); and analysis of marketed products (Drug and Alcohol Review 2026, PMID 42559975). Rodent and other animal: two independent MASH/steatohepatitis models in mice and hamsters (PMIDs 41056349, 41741376) and a streptozotocin-induced diabetic rat cognition study (PMID 42385950). Human trial: phases 1b to 3. Review: PMIDs 38367045, 42425580.
- Largest human study identified
- Largest published trial is TRANSCEND-T2D-1, 537 participants randomised across 48 sites in the USA, Mexico and India, 40 weeks, double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 (Lancet 2026;407(10546):2402-2413, PMID 42250575). The larger TRIUMPH registrational programme covers over 5,800 participants across four phase 3 trials, but only its rationale and design are published (Diabetes Obes Metab 2026, PMID 41090431); the TRIUMPH result papers are not yet in the peer-reviewed literature as of August 2026 — topline results exist only as sponsor press releases.
- Regulatory status
- No marketing authorisation anywhere. UK: not authorised; MHRA's published position is that retatrutide 'has not been approved for UK use' and that outside authorised clinical trials 'any products being sold in the UK that claim to contain retatrutide are likely to be illegal and are potentially dangerous to people's health' — verified on gov.uk, not from the commercial pharmacy sites that also carry it. MHRA criminal enforcement includes an October 2025 Northampton seizure of more than 2,000 unlicensed retatrutide and tirzepatide pens, a second site disrupted February 2026, and a further May 2
- Anti-doping status
- Retatrutide is named on neither the WADA Prohibited List nor the WADA Monitoring Programme. The Monitoring Programme in force from 1 January 2026 names the APPROVED GLP-1 receptor agonists semaglutide and tirzepatide, which are monitored and are NOT prohibited — a point that low-quality sources routinely invert by claiming GLP-1 agonists moved to S4 prohibition in January 2026; that claim was checked and rejected. Retatrutide's position differs from theirs because it is unapproved: category S0 (Non-Approved Substances) prohibits at all times any pharmacological substance not addressed by another section of the List and with no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use, which on its face covers a compound in clinical development. Published national anti-doping guidance is genuinely inconsistent on whether S0 is engaged here and no authoritative determination naming retatrutide was located, so the entry states the S0 text and the divergence rather than asserting a settled answer.
- Last reviewed
- 8 August 2026
Every line above is a statement about the published record, not an assessment of the compound. Where no human trial exists, this panel says so.
| Class | Metabolic |
|---|---|
| Also known as | LY3437943, LY-3437943, Triple G; INN retatrutide; GIP GLP-1 and glucagon receptor agonist; GLP1; triple incretin |
| Molecular formula | C221H342N46O68 |
| Molecular weight | 4731.4 g/mol (average); PubChem states 4731 |
| CAS number | 2381089-83-2 |
Retatrutide — identity, handling and published literature
Retatrutide is a synthetic, lipidated 39-residue peptide agonist at the glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide (GIP), glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) and glucagon (GCG) receptors, supplied as a sterile lyophilised powder for reconstitution in a sealed glass vial.
Presentation and physical properties
Retatrutide is supplied as a white to off-white lyophilised solid. It is a single-chain peptide of 39 amino acid residues with a C-terminal amide, built on a GIP-like backbone and carrying three structural modifications that distinguish it from the native hormones:
- α-aminoisobutyric acid (Aib) substituted at positions 2 and 20;
- α-methyl-leucine at position 13;
- a C20 fatty diacid conjugated to the lysine at position 17 through a γ-glutamate and AEEA (2-[2-(2-aminoethoxy)ethoxy]acetyl) linker.
The Aib and α-methyl residues are backbone-constraining substitutions; the fatty diacid is an albumin-binding motif. Both are common structural strategies in this peptide class. The molecule is registered under a single WHO International Nonproprietary Name, retatrutide, and the originator development code LY3437943.
The lyophilised powder is hygroscopic. Vial contents are typically not visible as a discrete cake at low fill masses; absence of a visible plug is a normal consequence of lyophilisation at this scale and is not by itself an indication of vial content.
Reconstitution arithmetic
Reconstitution is a dilution calculation and nothing more. The concentration of the resulting solution is the peptide mass in the vial divided by the volume of diluent added:
concentration (mg/mL) = vial mass (mg) ÷ diluent volume (mL)
The lyophilised solid itself contributes negligible volume at these masses, so the diluent volume added is taken as the final solution volume. The table below is worked for a 20 mg vial. The right-hand columns restate the same concentration as the mass contained in two commonly graduated volumes; 0.01 mL is one graduation on a U-100 insulin syringe.
| Diluent added | Concentration | Mass in 0.01 mL | Mass in 0.1 mL |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 mL | 20 mg/mL | 0.2 mg (200 µg) | 2 mg |
| 2 mL | 10 mg/mL | 0.1 mg (100 µg) | 1 mg |
| 3 mL | 6.67 mg/mL | 0.067 mg (66.7 µg) | 0.667 mg |
The 3 mL row does not divide exactly: 20 ÷ 3 = 6.666… mg/mL. Where a figure is carried forward into a further calculation, the unrounded value should be used and rounding left to the final step.
This section gives the concentration relationship only. It does not state, imply or recommend any amount to be withdrawn or administered, and no such figure appears anywhere in this entry. See Regulatory and standards position below.
Storage and stability
General handling conditions for lyophilised research peptides apply. The supplier’s stated conditions for the specific lot take precedence over any general guidance.
- Sealed, lyophilised: stored refrigerated at 2–8 °C, or frozen at −20 °C or below for extended periods. Vials should be protected from light and kept sealed until reconstitution.
- Equilibration: vials brought to ambient temperature before opening, to avoid condensation onto hygroscopic solid.
- After reconstitution: aqueous peptide solutions are substantially less stable than the lyophilised solid and are held refrigerated at 2–8 °C.
- Freeze–thaw: repeated freeze–thaw cycling of reconstituted solution is avoided; where a solution is to be frozen, aliquoting before freezing limits the number of cycles any one aliquot undergoes.
- Agitation: peptides of this class are surface-active and susceptible to interfacial aggregation. Diluent is directed against the vial wall rather than onto the solid, and the vial is swirled rather than shaken.
Published real-time stability data specific to retatrutide in a research-supply presentation are not in the public domain. The conditions above are generic to the peptide class and are not a substitute for lot-specific data.
Analytical identity
Retatrutide has an assigned CAS registry number, a defined molecular formula and a fully published primary sequence, so identity is determinable by routine methods. Confirmation typically rests on reversed-phase HPLC for purity and related substances, high-resolution mass spectrometry for intact mass against the calculated average mass of approximately 4731 Da, and where required peptide mapping or Edman/MS sequencing to confirm the residue order and the position of the lipid conjugate.
Two points make analytical confirmation more than a formality for material obtained outside a regulated supply chain.
First, the intact mass alone does not distinguish retatrutide from every plausible related impurity. Deletion, truncation and deamidation products, and material lipidated at the wrong position, are the failure modes that matter for a molecule of this construction, and they are resolved by chromatography and mapping rather than by mass alone.
Second, the composition of material sold as retatrutide has been the subject of published scrutiny. A 2026 letter in Drug and Alcohol Review reported an analysis of the composition and labelling accuracy of products sold as retatrutide in Australia [12]. Separately, the Victorian Department of Health issued a public health alert on 19 June 2026 recording six cases of acute liver injury since January 2026 associated with an unapproved product labelled as retatrutide, and stated that the clinical presentation suggested additional contaminants may be contributing to the observed toxicity, with investigation of the product contents ongoing. Identity and purity of any given lot are therefore properly treated as questions to be answered analytically rather than assumed from a label.
A 2026 paper in Organic Letters described a hydrophobic tag-assisted liquid-phase synthesis route for retatrutide, presented as an alternative to the solid-phase peptide synthesis on which its manufacture has predominantly relied [11]. Synthetic route affects the impurity profile, which is relevant when interpreting a chromatogram against a reference standard.
What the published literature investigated
Retatrutide has an unusually substantial published literature for an unapproved compound. It has been studied in a continuous programme from receptor pharmacology through phase 3, with the trials sponsored by the originator and published in general and specialist journals of high standing. This is a fact about the size and quality of the evidence base and carries no implication about the properties of any particular material supplied as retatrutide.
Endpoint magnitudes reported by the trials below are deliberately not reproduced in this entry. The reasons are set out in Regulatory and standards position. Trial design, population, size and whether the pre-specified endpoints were met are reported; the figures themselves are available in the cited primary sources.
In vitro and receptor pharmacology
The originating characterisation, published in Cell Metabolism in 2022, reported the discovery and pharmacological profiling of LY3437943 across the three target receptors, describing it as an agonist at the glucagon, GIP and GLP-1 receptors and reporting relative potencies against the endogenous ligands at each [1]. That paper reported the compound to be less potent than the native ligands at the human glucagon and GLP-1 receptors and more potent at the human GIP receptor.
A 2023 methods paper in STAR Protocols described a protocol for differentiating human subcutaneous adipocytes and measuring lipolytic function induced by GIP or LY3437943, giving a published in vitro system in which the compound’s activity in a human primary cell model can be assessed [15].
Rodent and other animal models
The 2022 Cell Metabolism characterisation included animal work alongside its in vitro pharmacology and early clinical data [1].
A 2025 study in the American Journal of Physiology — Gastrointestinal and Liver Physiology developed a 31-day mouse model of diet-induced steatohepatitis using a Western diet with fructose and sucrose and a terminal fructose binge, and reported the effects of a retatrutide intervention over the final two weeks. The authors reported reductions in body weight, alanine aminotransferase, hepatic triglycerides and cholesterol, and hepatic inflammatory markers in female mice relative to vehicle-treated controls, and reported that female mice developed more severe liver injury than males after a single fructose binge [10].
A 2026 study in Obesity evaluated retatrutide in diet-induced obese MASH mouse and hamster models. The authors reported reductions in body weight, fat and lean mass and food and water intake in mice with energy expenditure not significantly altered, and in hamsters reported an altered food preference and a reduction in hepatic triglyceride content without a reduction in histopathological scoring [9].
A 2026 study in Behavioural Brain Research examined learning and memory in a streptozotocin-induced diabetic male Sprague-Dawley rat model, assessing spatial learning by Morris Water Maze and Passive Avoidance testing alongside hippocampal cytokine, BDNF, CREB and AKT expression and Tau protein levels [16].
Human trials
The published human programme runs from phase 1b to phase 3.
Phase 1b. A multicentre, double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomised multiple-ascending-dose trial in people with type 2 diabetes was published in The Lancet in 2022 [2].
Phase 2. Two phase 2 trials were published in 2023. A trial in adults with obesity enrolling 338 participants was published in the New England Journal of Medicine, with body weight change to 48 weeks as its endpoint; the report described gastrointestinal adverse events as the most common in the retatrutide groups, dose-related, mostly mild to moderate, and partially mitigated by a lower starting dose, and described dose-dependent increases in heart rate peaking at 24 weeks and declining thereafter [3]. A randomised, double-blind, placebo- and active-controlled, parallel-group trial in 281 participants with type 2 diabetes, conducted in the USA, was published in The Lancet [4]. A substudy of a phase 2 trial reporting body composition outcomes in people with type 2 diabetes was published in The Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology in 2025 [7].
Phase 2a, liver. A randomised phase 2a trial in metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease was published in Nature Medicine in 2024 [5].
Phase 3. TRANSCEND-T2D-1, a 40-week double-blind randomised placebo-controlled phase 3 trial at 48 sites in the USA, Mexico and India, randomised 537 adults with type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled by diet and exercise, with change in HbA1c at week 40 as the primary endpoint and percentage change in body weight as a key secondary endpoint. It was published in The Lancet in June 2026. The report stated that the primary endpoint was met at all dose levels studied (p<0.0001), that 91% of participants completed the treatment period on study drug, that the most frequent adverse events were generally mild to moderate gastrointestinal events which subsided over time, that discontinuations due to adverse events were 2–5% with retatrutide against 0% with placebo, that no severe hypoglycaemia was reported, and that two deaths occurred during the study, both in one retatrutide group and both assessed as unrelated to the study drug [6].
Phase 3 programme design. The rationale and design of the TRIUMPH registrational programme was published in Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism in 2026. TRIUMPH comprises four phase 3 multicentre randomised double-blind studies in over 5,800 participants, using a basket design in which obstructive sleep apnoea and knee osteoarthritis protocols are nested within weight-management trials, plus a trial in a population with cardiovascular disease and a stand-alone osteoarthritis trial [8].
Reviews and commentary
A 2024 review in the European Journal of Clinical Pharmacology surveyed retatrutide as an investigational agent [13]. A 2026 BMJ news analysis examined a widely circulated report of a death following use of unapproved retatrutide obtained outside the regulated supply chain [14].
Evidence gaps and limitations
The following are absences, stated plainly.
- Retatrutide is not an approved medicine anywhere in the world. No regulator has assessed and authorised it. Every efficacy and safety conclusion in the literature is a trial finding, not a regulatory determination.
- The TRIUMPH phase 3 trials are not yet published in the peer-reviewed literature. Topline results have been announced by the sponsor by press release; as of August 2026 the only phase 3 trial of retatrutide indexed on PubMed as a full publication is TRANSCEND-T2D-1 [6]. Press-release results have not been through peer review and cannot be independently interpreted from the information released.
- Cardiovascular and renal outcomes are unknown. The large outcomes trial is ongoing and has not reported.
- Long-term safety beyond the published trial durations is uncharacterised. The longest published trials run to 40–48 weeks.
- Essentially the entire human trial base is sponsored by the originator and is conducted with the originator’s own material, manufactured to pharmaceutical standards, under clinical supervision, in screened populations. None of it is evidence about material obtained from any other source.
- There are no published stability, sterility or impurity data for retatrutide as a research-supply lyophilisate. Handling guidance for this presentation is extrapolated from the peptide class.
- There is no published pharmacokinetic or safety characterisation of retatrutide in any non-clinical-trial setting, and documented harm has been associated with unapproved product labelled as retatrutide, including a cluster of acute liver injury cases attributed by the issuing health authority to possible contaminants rather than to the labelled compound.
Regulatory and standards position
United Kingdom. Retatrutide holds no UK marketing authorisation and is not an authorised medicine. The MHRA’s published position is that retatrutide “has not been approved for UK use” and that, outside authorised clinical trials, “any products being sold in the UK that claim to contain retatrutide are likely to be illegal and are potentially dangerous to people’s health”. The MHRA has taken criminal enforcement action against illicit manufacture and supply of unlicensed retatrutide, including a seizure at a Northampton facility in October 2025 that recovered more than 2,000 unlicensed retatrutide and tirzepatide pens, a second disrupted site in February 2026, and a further operation in May 2026.
European Union. Retatrutide holds no EU marketing authorisation and has not been assessed by the EMA for authorisation.
United States. Retatrutide is an unapproved investigational new drug. It is not approved by the FDA for any indication and there is no lawful compounding pathway for it.
US enforcement, and the research-use-only disclaimer. This is a documented enforcement fact and is recorded here for that reason. On 7 April 2026 the FDA published seven warning letters, all dated 31 March 2026 and issued by the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, to online sellers marketing GLP-1 receptor agonist compounds as research chemicals. Two of the firms — Gram Peptides and Prime Sciences — were selling retatrutide by name, in some cases under coded product names. The FDA determined the products to be unapproved new drugs under section 505(a) of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, and their introduction into interstate commerce to violate sections 301(d) and 505(a).
The FDA expressly rejected the research-use-only disclaimer as a defence. The agency’s position was that, despite statements on the labelling marketing the products for “Research Use Only” and as “not intended for human consumption, medical use, or veterinary use”, evidence obtained from the sellers’ own websites established that the products were intended to be drugs for human use. Intended use under section 201(g)(1) is established from the totality of evidence about how a product is presented — including the descriptive claims made on the product page — and a disclaimer does not displace it. Sellers whose pages described effects on appetite, body weight or glucose handling were held to have established a drug intended use notwithstanding the disclaimer.
The practical consequence for a reference document of this kind is direct: the disclaimer at the foot of this page is not what keeps the page lawful. What keeps it lawful is the absence of any claim that the compound does anything to anybody. That is why this entry reports studies rather than effects, and why it carries no dosing information and no endpoint magnitudes.
Controlled-drug status. Retatrutide is not a controlled drug under the Misuse of Drugs Act 1971 or the Misuse of Drugs Regulations 2001, and is not scheduled under the equivalent US or EU controlled-substances frameworks. Its restriction arises from medicines law, not drugs-of-misuse law.
Anti-doping. Retatrutide is not named on the WADA Prohibited List and is not named on the WADA Monitoring Programme. The Monitoring Programme in force from 1 January 2026 names the approved GLP-1 receptor agonists semaglutide and tirzepatide, which are monitored and are not prohibited. Retatrutide’s position is different from theirs because it is unapproved: category S0 (Non-Approved Substances) of the Prohibited List prohibits at all times any pharmacological substance not addressed by another section of the List and with no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use, a description that on its face covers a compound in clinical development. Published guidance from national anti-doping organisations is not consistent on whether S0 is engaged for this compound, and no authoritative determination naming retatrutide has been located. Anyone for whom the answer is operative should obtain it from the relevant anti-doping organisation directly rather than from this entry.
Laboratory handling and safety
Retatrutide is a laboratory chemical of incompletely characterised hazard. It has no authorisation for human or veterinary use and is not supplied, and must not be handled, as a medicine.
- A COSHH assessment should be completed before first use, and the supplier’s safety data sheet for the lot consulted.
- Lyophilised peptide is a fine, static-prone, readily airborne solid. Vials are opened and handled so as to avoid generating or inhaling dust; weighing and transfer of open powder are appropriately carried out in a containment enclosure.
- Standard personal protective equipment — laboratory coat, nitrile gloves, eye protection — and no eating, drinking or storage of food in the working area.
- Reconstituted solutions are handled with the sharps precautions ordinary to any needle-and-septum operation. Needle-stick injury with a peptide of unknown human hazard is reported and assessed as an occupational exposure.
- Peptide solutions adsorb to glass and plastic surfaces and are surface-active; low-binding consumables are appropriate where quantitative recovery matters.
- Waste peptide, contaminated consumables and sharps are disposed of through the laboratory’s normal chemical and clinical-waste routes in accordance with local regulations. Peptide waste is not discharged to drain.
- Material of grey-market origin should not be assumed sterile, endotoxin-free or of the labelled identity; see Analytical identity above.
References
- Coskun T, Urva S, Roell WC, Qu H, Loghin C, Moyers JS, O’Farrell LS, Briere DA, Sloop KW, Thomas MK, Pirro V, Wainscott DB, Willard FS, Abernathy M, Morford L, Du Y, Benson C, Gimeno RE, Haupt A, Milicevic Z. LY3437943, a novel triple glucagon, GIP, and GLP-1 receptor agonist for glycemic control and weight loss: From discovery to clinical proof of concept. Cell Metabolism. 2022;34(9):1234–1247.e9. Model: in vitro receptor pharmacology, animal models and early clinical data. PMID 35985340
- Urva S, Coskun T, Loh MT, Du Y, Thomas MK, Gurbuz S, Haupt A, Benson CT, Hernandez-Illas M, D’Alessio DA, Milicevic Z. LY3437943, a novel triple GIP, GLP-1, and glucagon receptor agonist in people with type 2 diabetes: a phase 1b, multicentre, double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomised, multiple-ascending dose trial. The Lancet. 2022;400(10366):1869–1881. Model: human trial (phase 1b). PMID 36354040
- Jastreboff AM, Kaplan LM, Frias JP, Wu Q, Du Y, Gurbuz S, Coskun T, Haupt A, Milicevic Z, Hartman ML. Triple-Hormone-Receptor Agonist Retatrutide for Obesity — A Phase 2 Trial. New England Journal of Medicine. 2023;389(6):514–526. Model: human trial (phase 2, n=338). PMID 37366315
- Rosenstock J, Frias J, Jastreboff AM, Du Y, Lou J, Gurbuz S, Thomas MK, Hartman ML, Haupt A, Milicevic Z, Coskun T. Retatrutide, a GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptor agonist, for people with type 2 diabetes: a randomised, double-blind, placebo and active-controlled, parallel-group, phase 2 trial conducted in the USA. The Lancet. 2023;402(10401):529–544. Model: human trial (phase 2, n=281). PMID 37385280
- Sanyal AJ, Kaplan LM, Frias JP, Brouwers B, Wu Q, Thomas MK, Harris C, Schloot NC, Du Y, Mather KJ, Haupt A, Hartman ML. Triple hormone receptor agonist retatrutide for metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease: a randomized phase 2a trial. Nature Medicine. 2024;30(7):2037–2048. Model: human trial (phase 2a). PMID 38858523
- Bajaj HS, Welch M, Shah P, Luna E, Jaouimaa FZ, Liu B, Liu R, Chen Y, Patel H, Bartee A. Efficacy and safety of retatrutide, a GIP, GLP-1, and glucagon receptor agonist, in people with type 2 diabetes and inadequate glycaemic control with diet and exercise (TRANSCEND-T2D-1): a double-blind, randomised, phase 3 trial. The Lancet. 2026;407(10546):2402–2413. Model: human trial (phase 3, n=537). PMID 42250575
- Coskun T, Wu Q, Schloot NC, Haupt A, Milicevic Z, Khouli C, Harris C. Effects of retatrutide on body composition in people with type 2 diabetes: a substudy of a phase 2, double-blind, parallel-group, placebo-controlled, randomised trial. The Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology. 2025;13(8):674–684. Model: human trial (phase 2 substudy). PMID 40609566
- Giblin K, Kaplan LM, Somers VK, le Roux CW, Hunter DJ, Wu Q, Lalonde A, Ahmad N, Bethel MA. Retatrutide for the treatment of obesity, obstructive sleep apnea and knee osteoarthritis: Rationale and design of the TRIUMPH registrational clinical trials. Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism. 2026;28(1):83–93. Model: human trial (phase 3 programme design). PMID 41090431
- Briand F, Le Cudennec C, Grasset E, Breyner N, Bigot C, Dillard P, Sulpice T. Retatrutide Shows Multiple Metabolic Benefits in Diet-Induced Obese MASH Mouse and Hamster Models. Obesity. 2026;34(Suppl 1):43–53. Model: rodent (mouse and hamster). PMID 41741376
- Viebahn GK, Khurana A, Freund L, Chilin-Fuentes D, Jepsen K, Rosenthal SB, Chatterjee S, Ellenrieder V, Hsu CL, Schnabl B, Hartmann P. Retatrutide improves steatohepatitis in an accelerated mouse model of diet-induced steatohepatitis with a fructose binge. American Journal of Physiology — Gastrointestinal and Liver Physiology. 2025;329(6):G680–G695. Model: rodent (mouse). PMID 41056349
- Mao CY, Pang ZJ, Qiao GY, Dong L. A Hydrophobic Tag-Assisted Liquid-Phase Strategy for the Synthesis of Retatrutide. Organic Letters. 2026;28(23):7486–7490. Model: in vitro (synthetic chemistry). PMID 42224238
- Piatkowski T, Craven A, Cornell S, Ferris J. Composition and Labelling Accuracy of Products Sold as Retatrutide in Australia. Drug and Alcohol Review. 2026;45(6):e70231. Model: in vitro (analysis of marketed products). PMID 42559975
- Kaur M, Misra S. A review of an investigational drug retatrutide, a novel triple agonist agent for the treatment of obesity. European Journal of Clinical Pharmacology. 2024;80(5):669–676. Model: review. PMID 38367045
- Mahase E. Retatrutide fact check: Has a man died after taking the unapproved weight loss jab? BMJ. 2026;394:e100245. Model: review (news analysis). PMID 42425580
- Regmi A, Roell W. Differentiation of human subcutaneous adipocytes and measurement of lipolytic function induced by GIP or LY3437943. STAR Protocols. 2023;4(2):102304. Model: in vitro (human primary adipocytes). PMID 37178114
- Keskin U, Altin E, Kara MK, Tekin B, Cakircoban KN, Ozatik FY, Ari NS, Sezgin AK, Gungor E. Effects of retatrutide on learning and memory in streptozotocin-induced male diabetic rats. Behavioural Brain Research. 2026;514:116343. Model: rodent (rat). PMID 42385950
Research use only
This entry is a technical reference about a laboratory chemical and a record of the published literature concerning it. It is provided for research and analytical purposes only.
Retatrutide is not authorised as a medicine in the United Kingdom, the European Union, the United States or anywhere else. It is supplied for laboratory research use only and is not for human or veterinary use, not for diagnostic or therapeutic use, and not for use in or on the body. Nothing in this entry is medical advice, and nothing in it states or implies that retatrutide treats, prevents, cures or improves any condition in any person.
No dosing, administration route, regimen or target amount is stated anywhere in this entry, and none should be inferred from the reconstitution arithmetic, which is a statement about concentration and nothing more.
Published literature over time
- 2022human trialCoskun et al., Cell Metabolism — discovery and receptor pharmacology of LY3437943 across GCG, GIP and GLP-1 receptors, through to clinical proof of conceptPMID 35985340
- 2022human trialUrva et al., The Lancet — phase 1b multicentre double-blind placebo-controlled randomised multiple-ascending-dose trial in type 2 diabetesPMID 36354040
- 2023human trialJastreboff et al., NEJM — phase 2 trial in adults with obesity, n=338, 48 weeksPMID 37366315
- 2023human trialRosenstock et al., The Lancet — phase 2 randomised double-blind placebo- and active-controlled parallel-group trial in type 2 diabetes, n=281PMID 37385280
- 2023in vitroRegmi & Roell, STAR Protocols — protocol for human subcutaneous adipocyte differentiation and lipolytic function induced by GIP or LY3437943PMID 37178114
- 2024human trialSanyal et al., Nature Medicine — randomised phase 2a trial in metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver diseasePMID 38858523
- 2024reviewKaur & Misra, European Journal of Clinical Pharmacology — review of retatrutide as an investigational triple agonistPMID 38367045
- 2025human trialCoskun et al., The Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology — body composition substudy of a phase 2 randomised placebo-controlled trial in type 2 diabetesPMID 40609566
- 2025rodentViebahn et al., Am J Physiol Gastrointest Liver Physiol — retatrutide intervention in a 31-day mouse model of diet-induced steatohepatitis with fructose bingePMID 41056349
- 2026human trialBajaj et al., The Lancet — TRANSCEND-T2D-1, 40-week double-blind randomised phase 3 trial in type 2 diabetes, n=537; primary HbA1c endpoint met at all dose levelsPMID 42250575
- 2026human trialGiblin et al., Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism — rationale and design of the TRIUMPH phase 3 registrational basket programme, over 5,800 participantsPMID 41090431
- 2026rodentBriand et al., Obesity — retatrutide in diet-induced obese MASH mouse and hamster modelsPMID 41741376
- 2026rodentKeskin et al., Behavioural Brain Research — learning and memory in streptozotocin-induced diabetic male Sprague-Dawley ratsPMID 42385950
- 2026in vitroMao et al., Organic Letters — hydrophobic tag-assisted liquid-phase synthesis route for retatrutidePMID 42224238
- 2026in vitroPiatkowski et al., Drug and Alcohol Review — composition and labelling accuracy of products sold as retatrutide in AustraliaPMID 42559975
- 2026reviewMahase, BMJ — news analysis of a reported death following use of unapproved retatrutidePMID 42425580